Is Twitter the answer?

In my last post, I questioned the future of customer service and asked if Twitter was the answer. Here are my initial thoughts on Twitter’s role.

I’ve  looked around Twitter for various businesses and looked at how they utilized their Twitter accounts. I also put out a call for assistance and tweeted:

@smithbm12: Anyone have experience with customer service via twitter? I wanna blog about it, but need some more facts. #customerservice #cs

I heard back from Barry Dalton (@bsdalton) about a positive experience he had with @LinkedIn. Derek Homann (@dhomann) also chimed in with some assistance. This prompted me to start doing even more searching of my own.

What I soon saw was a distinct pattern in the way companies utilized Twitter. The accounts were either used as a PR/Marketing outlet with little to no interaction, a customer service outlet dedicated to helping customers or a place to foster interaction and establish a community among it’s customers. A few companies also had a combination of PR/Marketing and customer service, @LinkedIn being one of them.

Over the next few blog posts I will take a more in depth look at each of these methods and my observations of what companies are doing. If you have a story to share please contact me either through a comment on this post or a tweet (@smithbm12).

  1. Look forward to reading your series!

      • Derek Homann
      • February 8th, 2010

      That makes two of us 🙂

    • Michael pace
    • February 10th, 2010

    Contact me if u want to talk more in depth, Director of Customer Support at Constant Contact. Leaving for India on Friday for a week, but will be around tomorrow and following week @mpace101

    • Michael, I would love to talk with you about what Constant Contact is doing. My e-mail is smithbm12@gmail.com. Shoot me an e-mail and we’ll get something set up.

      Thanks,
      Brian

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

